Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension


The University started as a University College affiliated to Enugu State University (ESUT). As such the programme seeking accreditation has its root in the B. Agric.Agricultural Economics and Extension Department of ESUT. However, with the attainment of a full University status in 1999, the curriculum of the programme was expanded and fine-tuned. This was done in line with the National Policy on Education and National Universities Commission minimum academic standards.


Organisational Structure:

Philosophy of the Programme

The Department of Agricultural Economics, Management and Extension offers course leading to the award of Bachelor of Agriculture in Agricultural Economics and Extension and in Agricultural Business Management.The underlying philosophy of the programme is to produce graduates with board knowledge in agricultural policy development and analysis as well as in farm management and in techniques of delivering technical agricultural skills to end users.


The Agricultural Business Management programme aims at producing graduates with adequate knowledge and skills to effectively run and manage profitably, small, medium and large agricultural and Agro-related businesses. The products of these programmes are also expected to be equipped for diverse careers in education and research, banking, industry, government and private enterprises.

Job Opportunities

Being a course that bridges the pure and social sciences, there is a broad spectrum of job areas where graduates of the programme are employable. These include education and research, banking, industry, government, private enterprises among others

Admission Requirements

(a) UME/Pre-Degree Requirements: O’Level credits in at least 5 subjects including English Language, Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology or Agricultural Science.
(b) Direct Entry Requirements: A’Level passes in any of the following; Biology, Botany, Agric Science and at least 5 Credit at SSC/GCE O’Level. Candidates with ND/HND, NCE in Agricultural disciplines or other relevant qualifications approved by Senate are also eligible.