Department of Public Administration


The B.Sc degree programme in Public Administration was established during the 1999/2000 session under the headship of Mr. Oketa Cajetan (B.Sc. Political Science, M.Sc Public Administration (Nigeria) who joined the Department from Ondo State University, Ago Iwoye. The initial (pioneering) intake of students was (ninety-five) 95 made up of qualified applicants who came in through JAMB and the University’s pre-degree programme. The academic content has been regularly updated in line with NUC minimum standards and all courses have been examined and moderated regularly. There have been changes in headship/leadership since it is rotational among qualified teaching staff. Currently, Dr. Onwe Sunday Onwe, B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D is the Head. In 2002/2003 academic year, the first set of the students took their degree examination. The Departments external examiner is Dr Chikeleze Okechukwu of Enugu State University (ESUT). He moderates all question papers and answer scripts.


Organisational Structure:

Philosophy of the Programme

The general philosophy of the department is to produce public administration graduates through a training that equips and empowers them to acquire the needed skills and knowledge requisite for effective administration of our public and private sector economy (for details, vide faculty hand book).

Admission Requirements

Admission through JAMB: Five O’ level credits obtained in not more than two sittings in WAEC, SSCE, GCE or NECO which must include English, Mathematics, Economics, Government or History and any other subject. The JAMB subjects must include the aforementioned subjects. However, candidates seeking direct entry should passes in addition to possessing credit level as above a minimum of A’ level GCE, HSC, Diploma, Higher Diploma or NCE with a minimum of pass in areas like Government, Accountancy, Economics or other related subjects as shall be determined by the department.